top of page

Certified Crop Advisor

Join our Mailing List

About the Program

The Certified Crop Adviser Program (CCA) is one of the professional certification programs offered by the American Society of Agronomy (ASA). It is a voluntary program providing a base standard level through testing and raising that standard through continuing education.

  • Over 13,000 men and women serve our nation’s farmers and ranchers as Certified Crop Advisers, providing information and expertise on crop production, crop protection, and natural resource management.

  • The program is administered locally by 37 state/regional/provincial boards called “Local Boards” throughout the United States and Canada. The Northwest Certified Crop Adviser (NWCCA) covers six states (AK, ID, NV, OR, UT, WA) and 1 Canadian province (BC). Far West Agribusiness Association administers it in Weiser, ID.

  • Each CCA has to pass two exams (international and local) and submit credentials detailing their education, crop advising experience, and two references. They must sign and adhere to a code of ethics.

  • The exams cover four major competency areas: nutrient management, soil, and water management, integrated pest management, and crop management. Continuing education must also fall into one of these four areas to be valid for CCA Continuing Education Units (CEUs).

  • To maintain the certification, the CCA must earn 40 hours of continuing education every two years. The program has averaged a 94% renewal rate.

2021 NWCCA.png

Past NWCCA of the Year Award Winners

2022 - 

2021 - Geoff Schulz - Highline Growers, Inc.

2020 - Bruce Palmer, The McGregor Company
2017 - Bruce Ard (Retired)
2016 - Ed Huber, CHS Primeland
2015 - Russ Rubert, Valley Agronomics
2014 - Paul Camuso, Wilco-Winfield LLC
2013 - John Merkel, Ag Link
2012 - Matt Renfrow, Primeland Coop
2011 - Al Bruns, NuChem
2010 - Larry Hector, The McGregor Company
2009 - Rex Schorzman, Helena


CEU Credits

Stay informed of the CCA requirements for applying for CEU credits, review contracts, and review the CEU standards



Find out who represents the northwest region which includes Alaska, British Columbia, Idaho, Nevada, Oregon, Utah, Arizona, California and Washington 

bottom of page